Just Like Martha (Apps and Crafts)

I recently had a birthday. You could say I’m a bit of a birthday brat, in the sense that I get pretty entitled with planning my birthday celebration(s). Basically, I love to celebrate with my friends, so birthdays are always an excuse to show your friends a grand ole time.

It’s not a birthday without appetizers and wine, but I knew I needed a mellow, weeknight activity since everyone had work the next day. I thought to myself, what would Martha do (this does not apply to insider trading).

I’ve always had a liking for craft projects, but wanted to tailor the birthday event around food (hello, have you met me?) so opted for DIY aprons. I actually don’t own an apron and found out most of my friends didn’t either! Voila, the concept for appetizers & aprons was born.

My friends showed up ready for a “surprise” craft, and to be quite honest, we had a blast. My friend Sarah took care of the dessert: deliciously satisfying raspberry apple crisp. I had a wonderful birthday celebration with friends and family, and was really humbled by how thoughtful people can really be (more to come on weekend wine tasting).

Appetizers:

Roasted Cherry Tomato, Fresh Mozzarella & Basil Bruschetta

Meyer Lemon Ricotto, Mint & Caramelized Fennel Bruschetta

Goat Cheese Stuffed Figs with Toasted Walnuts, Drizzled with Honey

Fresh Organic Strawberries

Quinoa & Corn Salad

Tabbouleh

Pitted Kalamata Olives

Selection of Cheese (Goat Brie, Goat Gouda, Pt. Reyes Blue)

Crackers

Falafel Chips

Hummus with Thyme

4 Comments

Filed under FOOD-LIFE BALANCE

4 responses to “Just Like Martha (Apps and Crafts)

  1. What a great party! Your dishes look so beautiful and you arranged the food perfectly! Really looks appetizing and perfect!
    Happy Birthday. I guess I am to blame for making you a birthday brat- but I don’t regret any of it!! Guess who!!

  2. Thanks for your nice comment (mom) !!! You are completely to blame for my brat tendencies. Glad you like it, someone really special gave me really pretty dishes for my birthday 😉

Leave a Reply

